Monsoon Special: Onion Pakoda

Hi guys! Hope you all are enjoying Monsoons. I had a thought of sharing the Mumbai’s monsoons favorite delicacies which I love to eat and cook it myself. I am not a chef or expert in cooking but sometimes I just enjoy it specially if my favorite dishes are being cooked. So I am  starting a series of “Monsoon Special” where I will cook and share my recipes and the tiny adventures I have while making it. 

The first recipes is the Onion Pakodas I made yesterday.

The ingredients you will need are as follows:

  1. Onions – 2
  2. Chickpeas or Gram flour – 1 cup
  3. Turmeric powder – 1 tsp
  4. Paprika – 1 tsp
  5. Coriander powder – 1/2 tsp
  6. Salt to taste
  7. Oil for frying
  8. Water as needed.

Method:

Cut the onions into slices as shown in the image below.

Prepare the batter by mixing chickpeas or Gram flour with paprika, turmeric powder, coriander powder and salt.

Add sliced onions to the mixture and let it be for a while. The onions will release the juices which should be enough for the batter but add water if it’s too dry.

Heat the pan and add oil enough for deep frying the pakodas. 

Start dropping the batter with spoon into the pan once the oil is heated.

Fry until they are golden brown (mine was little more brown as the heat was on high but they were Yummy!)

Enjoy your Onion Pakodas with a cup of hot masala Chai! 

Keep Munching! Happy Monsoons. 

Check out the video of this recipe here .

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thanks Mugdha sharing this yummy recipe,
    It’s really mouth watering dish ….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wao mast, zatpat ani testi pakode recipe

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

